Natural Nitrate Reduction

subsea

After reading John Tullock's book "The Natural Reef", I begin to look at reef things with a different lens. I begin to look at things from a holistic point of view. Instead of trying to tweak the symptom, I look at the health of the complete system, microcosome. Being a marine engineer, I crossed over into biology and chemistry to understand better "what and the hell is going on here". Martin Moe, PhD Marine biologist said about the hobby, "It is not rocket science, it is more complicated". During my three years in Galveston at the Texas Maritime Academy, I maintained a 55 gallon "Galveston Bay biotheme" tank. In those days, my budget was non-existant. I was attending Moody College, a branch of Texas A & M in the fall of 1971. The GI Bill paid $175 a month, not much money for the hobby. I have maintained systems for 40 years. During my last 30 years as a subsea engineer in deep water drilling, I was away from home 180 days a year. During my time away from home my tanks were in the manual mode with nothing done for them. Over a period of years, I have evolved into "the lazy reefer". If biology can do it in the tank, then I do not want extra equipment. From an engineering point of view, the more equipment the more potential for failure.

As I now see it, I use a Jaubert Plenumn with 4"-6" of crushed coral (2mm-5mm) for natural nitrate reduction in my display tank..

http://saltaquarium.about.com/od/denitratorunits/Natural_Nitrate_Reduction_NNR_Filtration_Methods.htm

I also use a combination vegatable filter / mud filter in my refugium.

http://www.reefland.com/articles/rho/best-plants-and-algae-for-refugia-part-II-vegetable-filters